WHO Executive Board announces the names of the 3 nominees for the post of WHO Director-General

Five candidates were interviewed by Member States today prior to the vote. The names of the 3 nominees were announced at a public meeting on Wednesday evening, 25 January 2017.

The WHO Executive Board selected by vote the following 3 candidates to be presented to World Health Assembly as nominees for the post of Director-General of WHO.

Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus
Dr David Nabarro
Dr Sania Nishtar

All Member States will choose among the 3 nominees by vote at the World Health Assembly in May 2017. The new Director-General will take office on 1 July 2017.

Source: WHO

Share this on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *