WHO’s member states to elect new Director-General

Today, WHO’s 194 Member States will elect a new Director-General, who will take office for a five-year term on 1 July 2017.

The three nominees for the position, Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus of Ethiopia; Dr David Nabarro of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and Dr Sania Nishtar of Pakistan, will each address the Health Assembly for 15 minutes tomorrow afternoon, starting at 14.00 (CET). Dr Tedros will speak first, followed by Dr Nabarro and then by Dr Nishtar.

The election will take place by secret ballot and its result will be communicated once the process has been completed. The Director-General Elect will take the oath of office in a public ceremony.

Share this on:

1 Comment

  1. Dr Adhanum will be a great fit the WHO office he has came far through a practical field including a political and diplomatic journeys .He is invaluable potential resource of this world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.